So, what are the real costs of drunk driving in Colorado? You may be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Impaired (DWAI) in Colorado.
Colorado Drunk Driving Law consists of two parts: the Criminal Case with possible jail time, alcohol classes, community service, fines and costs, and the Civil Drivers License Case with the possible revocation of driving privileges. Being arrested for drunk driving means you must go to the Department of Motor vehicles within seven (7) days to request a hearing, or your license will automatically be suspended for 90 days.
If You Are Convicted of a First Offense
Too often, first offenders are unaware of their rights and the legal ramifications of not getting proper representation. Here at James Munafo & Associates we make certain you understand all of your rights and obligations.
You will be fined anywhere from $300 to $1,500.
Real Costs Associated with your arrest:
The State of Colorado has estimated the real costs to you, including fines, fees, insurance increases, mandated alcohol classes, and estimated attorney fees, to be at least $8866.00.
Jail time is a possibility:
You could be sentenced to jail from five days to one year. 10 days is common. We will work on your behalf to limit this as much as possible.
Drunk driving in Colorado is a serious offense and your license will be suspended for one year.
In most cases, you will be required to perform 48 to 96 hours of community service work.
Alcohol Education Classes:
Based upon your Blood Alcohol Level, uou may have to attend alcohol education classes and therapy. You may also be required to go through an evaluation. Average cost for this is around $525.00. Education is 24 hours over a 12 week period; alcohol therapy can last 21 weeks to 13 months.
It is possible your insurance company will drop you immediately. Your insurance costs will increase at least 30%. If you have to buy insurance through a “high-risk” agency it will cost substantially more.
First-time offenders are often given a deal, such as a suspended sentence conditioned on treatment for substance abuse or attendance at drunk-driving school.
BAC .20 or higher
Blood alcohol levels of .20 or higher leads to fines of $500 – $1500, jail time of 90 days- 1 year (10 days mandatory), one year license suspension, and public service of 60 – 120 hours (60 hours are mandatory).
If you are under 21 and your BAC is .02 or higher, you lose your license for one year, and are subject to criminal penalties similar to adults.
If your BAC is .04 or higher, you lose your license for one year, as well as being subject to criminal penalties.